Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Rain Game and Rangers Games

Short and sweetly put, I don't cheer for the Rangers. This makes me a black sheep or a member of the dark side this post-season. I hope they do well because they are from Texas, but that doesn't mean that I am cheering for them. Little background: I am from Texas. I went to a total of 2 baseball games before I was 18 and could buy my tickets. I don't remember anything about those games besides the fact that I was there. We couldn't afford it. I wasn't the kind of child that had parents that could take me and set me front row and center to watch the greats during my childhood like Nolan Ryan. I'd call it spoiled but that tends to give off a negative connotation. It is the simplest way to put. So I don't have this love, desire, or obsessive passion to see Nolan Ryan's team (as the Rangers are called now. Poor "other owner.") win the bigs. Here's what I do know. When I could buy my own tickets, I went to Astros games. I have been to Arlington voluntarily twice during my post-turning 18 years to A. Watch the Astros beat the Rangers in 10 and B. Watch the Yankees thump the Rangers. Fun was had both times. Now I know the Astros better. I know players like Jeff Bagwell, Craig Biggio, Lance Berkman, Adam Everett, Roy Oswalt, Hunter Pence, Carlos Lee, Roger Clemens, Andy Pettite, and many others captured my heart before they moved on to other teams, retired, or remained with Astros under different management, ownership, and with other teammates. I love these guys. So when they move onto different teams after not being able to get their rings with the 'Stros, I cheer them on. It's their dream and I don't care where they go (because of trade or on their own accord) to achieve this dream. I wouldn't want someone to hate me for trying to live out a dream. So Berkman, my man, is with the Yanks. I'll cheer for him. I cheered for him for 7 years. I know him. Not Hamilton, or Cliff Lee. They're great, but I want to see Berkman be successful. It's what he deserves after pouring his heart into the 'stros and then getting traded. Yes my mighty argumentative souls, traded. He didn't volunteer to go to the "dark side." Don't hate.

On another note, Adam and I have been buds since '99. The pre-21st century year. During that time we talked a lot about sports. When October would get here, the trash talk would begin. I would always pick the Yanks once the regular season ended. They did me pretty good too. Won it all in '99 over Atlanta, won it all in '00 over the New York Mets, lost in the world series in '01 to Arizona (they won it all), lost in the ALDS to the AAs in '02 (they won it all), lost to the Florida Marlins in the world series in '03 (they won it all), lost to Boston in the ALCS in '04 (they won it all), lost in the ALDS to the AAs in '05, lost to Detroit in the ALDS in '06, won the wild card in '07 but lost in the ALDS to Cleveland, missed the playoffs for the first time in 14 years in '08 due to injuries, and won it '09 against the Phillies in 6 game to win their 27th world series title. (pardon me if I got some of the stats wrong) So in the end, I go with them because in our relationship, it's been kind of tradition and makes it interesting once October arrives every year. Everyone has their own traditions and you don't see me hatin'.

So there is my story. Good luck Rangers! I hope you do well tonight so that this battle can be over. For the many fans out there that have loved them for years, you have earned it. If you beat the Yankees, I am going to continue wishing you well while hoping Oswalt kicks major butt in Phillie.

On a side side note... My mother is coming with her bf "Shuck" (as Maddie calls him) on Friday. I am stoked. I haven't seen Mom since August. This is a long time in the mother-daughter-time-apart world. She is coming to cheer on Adam/The Skyrockets/This sideline photographer. This is a super big deal to me. The lady doesn't like big crowds. That being said, she'll have the best seat in the house in the back of a gorgeous silver '05 Ford in a lawnchair under an umbrella. Yes folks. Third year of coaching football and Adam may have his first Friday night rain game. We've been hoping for it all year just to be able to use "Water" in the highlight film. It's senior night and I'm hoping it holds off to get the pre-game senior activities on record then the sky can come crashing down from then on. I like rain. Happy Hump Day to All!